Just when you thought it couldn’t get any better than this….

I’m not even sure where to start with this besides WE’RE HAVING A BABY!!!  Holy moly I could not be more excited.  You think about what it will be like when you find out and just how exciting it will be but it’s oh so much more than that.  I’m literally bursting with joy!  Everyone that I walk by I just want to shout: “Guess what?!  I’m pregnant!”  Gah!  Let’s back-track to how this all started…

Anth and I have been together for 7 years now (5 years dating, 2 years married) and he’s the best gosh darn thing in my life.  We’ve always been open about having kids and the talk naturally became more serious shortly after marriage.  We were traveling to India over Thanksgiving 2014 for a wedding and decided that we would start trying when we got back (I came off the pill in November).  Well, 5 months later and we got the best news EVER!

I should start off by saying that this wasn’t the first time I took a test.  It was only after a month or two of trying and I think my postbirthcontrolbody was still trying to figure out how to balance them damn hormones so my cycle was a little out of whack.  I told Anth before I took that first test.  I remember trying not to get excited because you just never know.  It’s awfully hard to suppress those feelings though.  So, I just marched in there and took it.  And it was negative.  It felt like such a heartbreak to come out and tell him I wasn’t pregnant.  We hadn’t even been trying for that long but, for some reason, it felt like forever.  After that, I tried to tell myself to relax and just let nature take it’s course.  It would happen.  And that little baby would come when it was suppose to.  Just sit back and enjoy this part of your lives.

It was a Sunday night and we had gotten back from a day out with family.  My period should have come by Saturday (it was pretty regular) and I told myself that if it didn’t come by Sunday night, I would take the test.  Anth was on the couch relaxing and I quietly went into the bathroom to take the test.  I didn’t want to tell him in case it was negative.  Something about being the bearer of bad news again just didn’t appeal to me.  I’m sure I would have told him eventually if this second test came back negative, but we don’t have to worry about that anymore, now, do we? 🙂  I came out crying, holding the test in my hand.  We cried together; we laughed together; we just smiled at each other like little kids again.  Our lives had changed within an instant.  Just when I thought our lives couldn’t get any better than this, man, was I proven wrong!

Leave a Reply

