Pregnancy: Weeks 4-11

First trimester is officially over!  Baby is perfectly healthy so I could not be any happier!!  Getting through the first trimester has been bittersweet for me.  I’m so glad that the sweet little babe is happy and healthy, but these few months have gone by so fast.  As eager as I am to meet this little nugget, I don’t want to rush the last few months that Anth and I have alone together.  I’m trying to soak in all the time I can with my favorite guy.

Without further ado, here he/she is at 11 weeks!


I’ll do another update soon, but here’s a recap of weeks 4-11:

Week 4

-Tender breasts

-Lower abdomen cramping for a few days

Week 5

-Have you ever been so tired that you have to go into the bathroom stall at work and try to nap with your head rested in your hands?  Yep, that’s how I felt this week.  By late afternoon, I could usually bounce back though.

-Breasts are fuller

Week 6

Soo week 6 has proven to be a bit more…challenging!

-There have been a few nights where I ended up feeling nausea.  I feel like what triggers the nausea though is when I don’t eat enough.  One night I was out with some friends (only 2 of whom I told I was pregnant) and I definitely did not eat as much as I should have.  We only got apps and that just didn’t work for me.  The other night, I didn’t eat anything in between lunch and dinner at around 7pm (no bueno, Chantel).  I had a dentist appointment that ran way longer than I thought and ended up running around after because of it.

-TMI, but I’m not regular like I used to be.  Maybe this doesn’t help with the good ol’ stomach?

-Doing pretty good without caffeine.  Just get tired at the end of the day.

Weeks 7 & 8

-Well, this week was tough!  I’d wake up every morning, feeling as though I hadn’t eaten in weeks.  I’d normally eat breakfast when I get to work, but this just won’t work anymore.  I’ve tried having saltines next to my bed and I’ll have a few when I first wake up.  That seems to help with the nausea.  It’s amazing that I can feel SO hungry and get so nausea at the same time.  Eh!  Could be worse, not throwing up.  Sure does make it hard to eat.  Once lunch time comes around, I finally start to feel better for the day.  I just need to eat, all.the.time.  I’ve even tried having a bowl of cereal before bed to help for the morning.  Not sure that it helped much, but worth a shot.

-Some brown spotting

Week 9

Feeling much better!

-Still really hungry, but nausea is gone

-Ready for bed by 9pm

-Headaches are near daily

-Waking up at 4 or 5am and can’t go back to sleep

Week 10

-Still getting headaches

-Abdominal cramping/pain.  Seems to happen more so late afternoon into the evening.

-Still can’t sleep past 5am

Week 11

We had our first doctor’s appointment!  A lot of nerves going into the appointment.  Just want to be sure that the baby is ok and healthy.  We heard it’s heartbeat and that was the most amazing sound I have ever heard!  Nurse says it’s one strong, healthy heartbeat 🙂  Such a relief!  Next week is the first trimester screening!

Met with the doctor for the first time.  She seems very knowledgeable, sweet, and calming.  Excited for our next appointment with her in 4 weeks!

Leave a Reply

